Founded in 1888, the Ruskin Art Club was the first women’s club established in Los Angeles. Although early members were prominent society women, they eschewed the notion of forming a social club and, instead, sought to devote their energies to rigorous art historical studies and, ultimately, the creation of a new cultural landscape in the Southern California region.
Part 3 in a series. The Bibliosmiles were a group of like-minded librarians who met at the American Library Association conferences in 1907 and 1908 with Charles Fletcher Lummis serving as their de facto organizer and chief rabble-rouser.
Part 2 in a series. The Bibliosmiles were a group of like-minded librarians who met at the American Library Association conferences in 1907 and 1908 with Charles Fletcher Lummis serving as their de facto organizer and chief rabble-rouser.
Part 1 in a series. The Bibliosmiles were a group of like-minded librarians who met at the American Library Association conferences in 1907 and 1908 with Charles Fletcher Lummis serving as their de facto organizer and chief rabble-rouser.
The Cante Sica Foundation’s Boarding School Stories visual histories are invaluable additions to the Libraries and Archives of the Autry’s collections related to Indian boarding schools. They unite past experiences with present perspectives, adding an additional layer of knowledge to a topic too often rooted solely in a historical point of view. Together with the contextualization provided by other library and archival materials, they allow researchers the opportunity to more fully explore a lived experience. And by ensuring the accessibility of the personal narratives of individuals brave and generous enough to share their voices, earlier printed research materials join with the present through the vibrant, living element of contemporary voices.
In 1897 Charles Fletcher Lummis purchased land in the Arroyo Seco area of northeast Los Angeles. Here he began construction of his home, El Alisal, meaning “place of the sycamores.”
“The clue is in the question.” (Les Dawson, 1931–1993)
Preservation and Access Gene Autry participated in many grand openings during his long public career, but given his great interest in preserving the history of the American West, one of his proudest moments may have been cutting the ribbon to the Research Center in May 1995. The ceremony marked our public opening and invited the … Continue reading On the 25th Anniversary Timeline 1995: The Autry Research Center is open!
Part of the Series: Archives Ready and Set In continuation of the “Diamonds in the Rough” blog series, “Archives Ready and Set” will highlight the online finding aids and catalog records of the archive collections processed with a grant from the NHPRC. This award made it possible for the Libraries and Archives of the Autry to process over … Continue reading MS.605 Mary Hunter Austin Collection, 1868–1954
Part of a Series: Diamonds in the Rough Through a grant-funded project awarded by the National Historical Publications and Records Commission (NHPRC), the Autry National Center sets out to process approximately 2,000 linear feet of archival material over two years, ending in 2012. Every third week of the month, the Autry Libraries blog will feature collection gems being … Continue reading The Importance of Accumulation or A Few of My Favorite Little Things